Myanmar begins restricting travellers

16 March 2020
Myanmar begins restricting travellers
Tourists wear masks as they visit the Shwedagon pagoda in Yangon. Photo: Nyein Chan Naing/EPA

As of 15 March, the United Kingdom’s Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) has advised against all but essential travel to Myanmar due to the risk of quarantine for British nationals arriving in the country.

According to the FCO, travellers who have recently visited France, Italy, Iran, Spain and Germany will be placed in government quarantine facilities for 14 days on arrival; recent travellers to the United States will be put under surveillance for 14 days; and travellers who have visited China or the Republic of Korea will not be permitted entry.

This may also apply to passport holders from these countries even if they are travelling from elsewhere. This list of countries, and the nature of the restrictions, could change without warning, the FCO advisory said.