Myanmar Now

Articles by Author

Saturday, 30 July 2016

It’s nearly dinner time at the dormitory in Mai Ja Yang and teachers are busy in the kitchen, while several teenagers are lounging on benches ....

Friday, 29 July 2016

Salai Lian Hmung Sakhong is the vice president of the Chin National Front, a rebel group from western Myanmar that signed ...

Friday, 22 July 2016

Several revered Buddhist monks from across Myanmar have spoken out against the nationalist Ma Ba Tha movement, describing it as ...

Friday, 15 July 2016

On a cloudy afternoon in June, Lieutenant Bo Bo Win Htut and several officers of Kalay Police Station were hiding in the long grass ...

Monday, 27 June 2016

The Arakan Army (AA) was formed in 2009 in the Kachin Independence Army (KIA) stronghold of Laiza, on Myanmar’s northern border with ...

Tuesday, 21 June 2016

On a recent afternoon in May, the farmers of OhnTitbin Village Tract were tending to their betel nut and rubber plantations ...

Tuesday, 7 June 2016

During a power blackout on a hot night in May, Thidar Han heard a baby crying at around 9 pm in back lane of Yangon’s ...

Saturday, 4 June 2016

Buddhist monks of the nationalist Ma Ba Tha movement have opened a private high school on the outskirts of Yangon this week, ...

Thursday, 26 May 2016

For much of the past two decades Maung Aye’s life has revolved around a daily routine that mixes the hope of finding sudden ...

Monday, 23 May 2016

Ywel Jer remembers a time when Saijarbon, an ethnic Kachin village perched upon a hilltop in Hpakant Township, ...

Pages

....