Myanmar Now

Articles by Author

Friday, 13 May 2016

The Kokang minority of northern Shan State are ethnically Chinese but citizens of Myanmar who, like many other minorities, have long suffered from instability, conflict and illicit drug trade in the region.

Wednesday, 11 May 2016

A prominent nationalist Buddhist monk has said the Ma Ba Tha movement has no plans to pressure the government over ...

Thursday, 5 May 2016

When Myo Arkar returned to his home in Yangon’s North Dagon Township after working through a long, hot day, he opened ...

Tuesday, 3 May 2016

In 2014, a number of civil society organisations and researchers concerned over the health and well-being of drugs users and ...

Friday, 29 April 2016

Hundreds of Buddhist nationalists staged a protest in front of the United States Embassy in Yangon on Thursday afternoon, ...

Thursday, 28 April 2016

Nay Phone Latt is a well-known freedom of speech advocate, blogger and former political prisoner, who joined ...

Tuesday, 26 April 2016

Two years ago, Kyar Yin was in the forest near his village collecting bamboo to sell when he stepped on a landmine.

Friday, 22 April 2016

In one of the many rooms of Myanmar’s massive parliament building in Naypyitaw, the country’s sprawling military-designed capital, ...

Pwint Phyu Township (2) - A local woman in front of her flood-damaged home in Sipintharyar village (Credit:- Ei Cherry Aung/Myanmar Now)
Tuesday, 12 April 2016

Win ThidaSeint had a bright future to look forward to last August. The 23-year-old was heavily pregnant with her first child and ...

Monday, 11 April 2016

Sai Thiha Kyaw is a two-term lawmaker in the Lower House representing Mongyai Township in northern Shan State.

Pages

....