Features

Aythaya Winery in Shan State is located 25 kilometres away from the tourist hot spot of Inle Lake and is a 15 minute drive to the bustling state capital of Taunggyi. Photo: Jessica Mudditt
Saturday, August 29 2015

Hans-Eduard Leiendecker’s interest in producing wine dates back to his childhood, as his parents owned a small winery in western Germany.

Wednesday, August 5 2015

All young music fans in Yangon have heard of the two female hip-hop singers called Y.A.K. They sing hip-hop songs with the equal expertise of their fellow male counterparts.

Monday, July 27 2015

There have been famous women in sports for many years. Although they tried to serve their country through sports, they have experienced criticism rather than praise.

Monday, July 6 2015

Myanmar’s most popular sport, soccer, glues tens of millions of people to their television sets or their computer monitors worldwide with ...

Thursday, June 18 2015

Ancient monks and kings and warriors etched symbols on their skin to announce status or ethnic identity.

Monday, June 8 2015

The discovery of ancient Myanmar ceramic-making techniques, thought to have disappeared more than 1,000 years ago, ...

Tuesday, May 26 2015

Call it social responsibility. Famous Myanmar singer Ma Phyu Phyu Kyaw Thein appears to be taking a different tack with ...

Wednesday, May 6 2015

They zoom past you in a blur. They leap and dance skywards, defying gravity. They bend over, backwards, like contortionists in a circus fair. 

Monday, April 6 2015

Yangon’s Thuwunna Sports Ground, built in 1985, was the largest in Myanmar until 2013. It is also a youth training centre. 

Lahu New Year in Kyaington, Shan State 2015. Photo: Ariana Zarleen
Friday, April 3 2015

In the mountains of eastern Shan State, the Lahu are among the many ethnic groups who continue their traditional farming ...

Pages

....
Subscribe to Features