8 NCA signatories call to separately meet C-in-C and State Counsellor

Khun Myint Tun, member of Peace Process Steering Team (PPST).

Khun Myint Tun, member of Peace Process Steering Team (PPST) consisting of the eight Ethnic Armed Organizations (EAOs) that signed the Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement (NCA), said that they had called for meetings with C-in-C of Defence Services and the State Counsellor separately.

They called for the meeting with the two leaders to take place after the second anniversary ceremony of NCA signing to be held at Myanmar Convention Centre (1) in Naypyitaw on October 15.

“We called for meetings with them separately but we don’t know yet if they have time. Our intention is to have a frank, open and friendly meeting with them in informal talks which will help the peace process,” Khun Myint Tun said.

PPST held an extraordinary meeting in Chiang Mai, Thailand on October 9-10 and then they made this proposal.

At this meeting, PPST discussed the peace process and preparations for holding second anniversary of NCA signing. Moreover, PPST added that they would invite Federal Peace Negotiation Consultative Committee (FPNCC) which has not yet signed NCA, to the ceremony. Khun Myint Tun said that they had already received government’s consent to extend the invitation to FPNCC.

“The government has accepted our proposal to invite both northern alliance (FPNCC) and United Nationalities Federal Council (UNFC) to this 2nd anniversary of NCA signing ceremony,” Khun Myint Tun added.

NCA was signed by Karen National Union (KNU), Karen National Liberation Army/Peace Council (KNLA/PC), Reunification Council of Shan State (RCSS), Pa-O National Liberation Organization (PNLO), Chin National Front (CNF), All Burma Students’ Democratic Front (ABSDF) and Arakan Liberation Party (ALP) on October 15, 2015 when President Thein Sein’s government was in power.

More Articles