One Championship

Features

Pwint Phyu Township (2) - A local woman in front of her flood-damaged home in Sipintharyar village (Credit:- Ei Cherry Aung/Myanmar Now)
Tuesday, April 12 2016

Win ThidaSeint had a bright future to look forward to last August. The 23-year-old was heavily pregnant with her first child and ...

Monday, April 4 2016

It’s hard enough for a widowed mother to support seven children, but 43-year-old Jar Raw also struggles with HIV.

Friday, April 1 2016

I was 10 years old when I first found out there was something seriously wrong with my country.

Thursday, March 31 2016

Shortly after newly elected President Htin Kyaw completed a swearing-in ceremony in Myanmar’s parliament on Wednesday morning, ...

Wednesday, March 30 2016

As darkness fell in Khanwebo on the night of February 3, a sudden ruckus erupted when dozens of policemen entered the coastal ...

Chit San, a former soldier and political prisoner who suffered from symptoms of depression, anxiety and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) after he was released. (PHOTO CREDIT:- Connor Macdonald/Myanmar Now)
Monday, March 21 2016

In May 1989, as the military junta continued its brutal crackdown on those linked to the ’88 democratic uprising, Chit San, ...

Saturday, March 19 2016

Khee Khee Phown is torn between her family’s farm and the potential freedom that education might provide her. 

Wednesday, March 16 2016

Nestled among towers of mouldering paperwork, the few flickering computer screens at Myanmar's information ministry are ...

Saturday, March 12 2016

Although reforms made by the outgoing Union Solidarity and Development Party improved press freedom in Myanmar – 

Thursday, March 10 2016

Myanmar’s new Lower House nominated four individuals as presidential candidates on Thursday, with Htin Kyaw, ...

Pages

Subscribe to Features