Six Arakan Army rebels sentenced by the court

Photo: Narinjara

Six Arakanese youths, convicted of being insurgent members of Arakan Army, was convicted and sent to Sittwe prison on Monday by the Kyauk Taw township court of Arakan State.

Lawyer Ko Tun Hla informed Narinjara News that all the Arakanese youths confessed about their relationship with the Arakan Army and the court accordingly sent them to three to five years of imprisonment.

“They confessed about their involvement with the Arakan Army. They had been detained since April 2015 and finally they confessed. Now they may expect amnesty from the new Burma President,” said Ko Tun Hla.

The convicted KoMaung Shwe Thee [son of U Pann Aung Phyu from  ButheeTaung township], KoNyiNyi Hlaing [son of U Thar Doe from  Kyauk Taw township] and Ko Zin Myo Aung [son of U Nga Lone Chay from KyaukPhru township] were sentenced to five years of imprisonment under the article 17 (2).

On the other hand, Ko San Aye Maung [son of U Maung Aye Thein from Kyauk Taw township], KoMaung Shwe Lone [son of U Shwe Saw Maung from Min Bya township] and Ko San Maung Thar [son of U Aung San Baw from Kyauk Taw township] were sentenced to three years of imprisonment under the article 17 (1), added the lawyer.

Earlier the Kyauk Taw township court sentenced 25 Arakan Army members with three to five years of imprisonment, who confessed about their unlawful activities under the insurgent outfit [Arakan Army].

Courtesy of BNI

More Articles