Opinion

Burmese authors, monks, and passersby share their thoughts with a local audience on the grounds of the Mandalay Hill Resort. (Credit: Ben Dunant)
Saturday, November 18 2017

In a hotel conference room in Mandalay, Jung Chang, author of celebrated Chinese saga Wild Swans, told an audience of writers, Buddhist monks, and ...

Wednesday, November 15 2017

Mizzima’s Editor In-Chief and Managing Director Soe Myint sat down to conduct an exclusive interview with Union Enterprises for Humanitarian Assistance, ...

Monday, November 13 2017

By relentlessly pressurising the Aung San Suu Kyi government over alleged human rights violations in Rakhine, the West is clearly not missing the wood for the trees.

Saturday, November 11 2017

November 8 this year marks the second anniversary of the National League for Democracy (NLD) party’s landslide victory in the 2015 general elections.

Wednesday, November 8 2017

Theo Stojanov is a doctoral candidate in Film and Moving Image Studies at Concordia University, where his work focuses on the sociology of cultural production.

Tuesday, October 31 2017

It is commonly reported that the ‘international community’ is outraged by the ongoing crisis in Myanmar’s Rakhine state. Indeed, Myanmar’s handling of ...

Thursday, October 26 2017

The new Ambassador of the European Union to Myanmar, Mr Kristian Schmidt, will represent the European Union in Myanmar and serve as Head of ...

Wednesday, October 25 2017

Aung San Suu Kyi’s civilian initiative for Rakhine state in western Myanmar is already running into trouble.

Wednesday, September 13 2017

Since August 25, the conflicts between the insurgent group Arakan Rohingya Salvation Army (ARSA) and the armed police of the Myanmese government ...

Wednesday, September 6 2017

For two strikingly beautiful Burmese Muslim sisters, Narendra Modi is a man of vision and action.

Pages

Subscribe to Opinion